Loess Hills, Iowa

0001
Murray Hill Overlook

Loess Hills Scenic Byway is one of those beautiful places we’d never heard of before. The Loess Hills extend from north of Sioux City, IA to south of Omaha.

Murray Hill Overlook
Murray Hill Overlook

We stayed at the Hitchcock Nature Center campground, learn more here.

Murray Hill Panorama -- the Missouri River looking south.

Murray Hill Panorama looking south. 

The Loess Hills are a major flyway for bird migration — we enjoyed talking to the birders counting migrating raptors in the park’s 45-foot high birding tower.

Hitchcock Nature Center campground.
Hitchcock Nature Center campground.

Learn about the Loess Hills Scenic Byway here.

 

Hitchcock Nature Center
Big Cottonwood stump at Hitchcock Nature Center.

We spent a pleasant afternoon in Omaha, soaking up the sun and walking from Omaha to Council Bluffs, crossing the Missouri River compliments of the Bob Kerry Pedestrian Bridge.

We walked across the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge connecting Council Bluffs to Omaha

 

LoessHillsMap

 

 


6 thoughts on “Loess Hills, Iowa

  1. I think the site looks good overall. However, with due respect to Dad, I’d like to see the text darker. I can read it just fine but I find myself overlooking the captions – almost like I don’t notice them.

    Like

  2. I just got to look at all your pictures and they look great. How I miss those days. I’m ready to hook up the Airstream and come find you. Keep on having fun

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.